I couldn’t be more angry!! ~~ February 6th, 2009

I had an issue with Lincoln’s teacher…which quickly snowballed into an issue with the school/school principal. I got nowhere with the school so I ended up sending a letter to the school board …Ill just copy the letter to the school superintendant and that will sum the whole thing up…The part in blue is the letter that I originally sent to the school itself and got nowhere with that…the whole part in red (along with the copy of the blue letter to the school) is what I sent to the superintendant of schools.

Mrs Dye,
 
My son Lincoln Sheppard is in grade 6 at Wembley. Yesterday the children were supposedly arguing with each other and out of the blue their teacher, Ms Cori Pitre, decides to make them walk around the outside of the school WITHOUT their jackets, hats, or mittens!!! Most of the children were in short sleeves. It was -27 yesterday, and the school even decided not to send the children outside for recess due to the cold temperatures. My husband and I were appalled that a teacher would do this and appalled that the school would allow it. The following is a copy of a letter I sent to the school first thing in the morning…
 
Ms Pitre, Mrs McDonald, & Mrs Shippam,
We are more than a little annoyed that our son Lincoln Sheppard and his class were made to go outside and run/walk around the school without jackets on yesterday. Our son was JUST getting over a cold and even if he were the picture of health, sending children outside half dressed in freezing temperatures is not only irresponsible it is neglectful. Even while writing this letter I am FUMING. We send our children to school with the expectation that they will be taken care of and this is clearly not the case at Wembley. Clearly at Wembley you encourage the endangerment of children’s health. We understand the children were not allowed outside for recess because it was too cold (-27) but then it was completely acceptable to have them walk around the outside of the school wearing nothing but T-shirts? We are shocked, appalled and angry. This is completely unacceptable.
 
Tina Sheppard and James Munro
home: (705) 222 0902
cell: (705) 207 5465
James@work: (705) 566 8101, EXT: 7776

 

To this letter we got NO response at all. At 2 pm I called the school and spoke with the vice principal and when I asked her if she had any thoughts on my letter she informed me that the letter had been passed along to the teacher. I said, fine but I would like to have some kind of response. She sounded confused that I would be calling in the first place and says “well I guess I can have the principal call you back if you want”. So I say Yes, I would like that.


By the end of the school day I still have not heard from anyone so at 3:40 I call back and the principal, Mrs. McDonald answers. I tell her who I am and ask what if anything is going to be done about what happened and she says to me in her most condescending tone of voice, “well what would you like me to do about it” . I told her it is not my job to decide what should be done, but that certainly SOMETHING should be done about the neglectfulness of a teacher sending the children out half dressed in freezing cold weather. To that she tells me that she spoke to the teacher and that she assures me there was no ill intent.


Through the entire conversation she spoke to me in a condescending tone and as if she was just annoyed with the entire conversation. She did not take what I was saying seriously and she spoke to me as if I was stupid for being concerned in the first place. Clearly she does not realize that what was done was hazardous to our child’s health and the health of the other children and that to us as parents is the scariest part of all. If the principle of the school does not even acknowledge that something like this is wrong then how are we to send our children to school under her care every day and expect them to be taken care of? I had to hound them ALL DAY to even get her to talk to me on the phone about the situation.

I can guarantee that if a parent sent their child to school in a T-shirt without mittens, hat or a jacket the school would have called Children’s Aid, the police, etc. But a teacher sending 30 children out like that somehow gets treated as if it is NOTHING. At the very LEAST the teacher or the school should write a letter of apology to the parents of the children in that class, assuring them that it will not happen again, and assuring them that they do in fact care about the health of the children under their care.


I do not appreciate being spoken to the way she did when I was nothing but polite to her, and I also do not appreciate the health of my child being taken lightly by the people he is in the care of on a daily basis. I would appreciate a response. Thank you for your time,
Tina and James Munro
(705) 222-0902
James @work : (705) 566-8101  ext. 7776

 

You can bet this won’t be the end of this….anyone who knows how stubborn I am knows this is SO not the end…I will keep you updated.

Published in: on February 7, 2009 at 12:17 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://munrosheppard6.wordpress.com/2009/02/07/stupid-school-january-6th-2009/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

