Death by Sock Monkeys ~ December 24th, 2008

I had decided months ago that I wanted to make sock monkeys for each of the kids for Christmas.  I had it on my Christmas to-do list since October, but for some reason it got left to the last second and by the 23rd I still had not done them. So I was going to just NOT do them but then I felt guilty because Lincoln LOVES monkeys, and he LOVES sock monkeys, and Lochy and Kenzie love everything Lincoln loves and I kinda thought that it would look cute with sock monkeys sticking out of all the stockings. SO on December 23rd I started a mad rush of making sock monkeys…something I had never made before. I thought it would be much easier and faster. I didn’t realize that 90% of the sewing was done by hand, and I NEVER hand sew unless it’s to sew on a button or something.  I got halfway through them and if I never see another monkey again it will be too soon. I couldn’t do them during the day or the kids would see and ruin the surprise, so I stayed up till 4am on Tuesday doing them and then another 4 hours on Wednesday evening after the kids went to sleep and YAY I finished them. They aren’t perfect, and the first one I did is a little mangled because I wasn’t really sure what I was doing, but they are done. I even did an extra one for Jamie’s stocking. Here are a couple pics of my sad attempt at sock monkey making.

Sock Monkeys

Sock Monkeys

Sock monkeys in the stockings

Sock monkeys in the stockings

Published in: on December 25, 2008 at 11:32 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://munrosheppard6.wordpress.com/2008/12/25/death-by-sock-monkeys-december-24th-2008/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

