Worldwide Breast Feeding Challenge

This morning Riley and I went to the World Breast Feeding Challenge. Breast feeding mothers and babies around the world gathered to promote the importance of mothers milk and the necessity to support breast feeding. At the same time, all across the world babies latched on to raise breast feeding awareness. It was a very empowering experience. Sitting in public breast feeding your baby with so many other women and knowing that there were thousands more around the world doing the exact same time. I think almost half the people at the event were people I already knew from Sudburymoms (my online mommy forum). It was a fun couple hours, seeing all the other babies. They supplied us with a mountain of really great food and drinks, everyone got T-shirts, handmade baby blankets, gift certificates, baby books, and other odds and ends. I almost didn’t go this morning because I woke up with a horrible cold, sore throat, headache, etc, but I am SO glad I went. I fully intend to go again next year. This is a really amazing event and totally necessary. Society still has miles to go in accepting breastfeeding and ESPECIALLY accepting breast feeding in public. You would be amazed at the looks of disgust people still dish out when they see you feeding your baby in public. Nourishing your baby isn’t something to be ashamed of. We shouldn’t have to run to the bathroom to feed our babies. I dont eat in the bathroom, I dont intend to force my baby to do so either.

Go Mommy Milk!!!

 

Patsy(with baby Niko), Carolle(with Chloe), Heather(with Shayna), Carina(with Patrick) Tiffany(with Josh)

Patsy(with baby Niko), Carolle(with Chloe), Heather(with Shayna), Carina(with Patrick) Tiffany(with Josh)

 

 

in front...Allison(with Scarlett), Ali(with Ben), right behind them is Christy(with Alex) and some other moms I dont know.

in front...Allison(with Scarlett), Ali(with Ben), right behind them is Christy(with Alex) and some other moms I dont know.

 

More mommies and babies

More mommies and babies

)

Riley passed out after chowing down 🙂

  

 

Published in: on October 11, 2008 at 8:00 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://munrosheppard6.wordpress.com/2008/10/11/worldwide-breast-feeding-challenge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

